Anxiety Café

Anxiety Café is designed to help those living with anxiety who are ready to take the next step towards improving their social isolation, confidence and gain new skills through creative activity.

Monthly evening sessions and weekly daytime sessions available. Refreshments are provided. A voluntary donation is appreciated.

Over 16s only.

Please call 01983 822437 to book your place.

 

Anxiety Café Wednesday Daytime Timetable, April to June 2019

 

Wednesday 3rd April  10am – 4pm

Photography Project Trip to Osborne House

Wednesday 10th April  10.30am -12.30pm

Photography Project with Mark

Sunday 14th April 11am – 3pm

Cupcakes and Anxiety tea party – see flyers

Wednesday 17th April   10.30am -12.30pm

Photography Project with Mark

Wednesday 1st May 10.30am -12.30pm

Textile Banner Making with Mandy

Wednesday 8th May 10.30am -12.30pm

Textile Banner Making with Mandy

Wednesday 15th May 10.30am -12.30pm

Textile Banner Making with Mandy

Wednesday 22nd May 10.30am -12.30pm

Textile Banner Making with Mandy

Sunday 26th May Parade Day!

Meet in East Cowes with the banner for parade

Wednesday 29th May 10.30am -12.30pm

Singing for Positivity with Annie

Wednesday 5th June 10.30am -12.30pm

Clay Sculpture House numbers with Evie

Wednesday 12th June 10.30am -12.30pm

Creative Writing TBC

Wednesday 19th June 10.30am -12.30pm

Clay Sculpture House numbers with Evie

Wednesday 26th June 10.30am -12.30pm

Mindfulness and creativity with Anne TBC

 

 

Anxiety Café Wednesday Daytime Timetable, July to October 2019

 

Wednesday 3rd July 10.30am -12.30pm

Felting with Leigh

Wednesday 10th July 10.30am -12.30pm

Shortlisting calendar images with Mark

Wednesday 17th July 10.30am -12.30pm

Movement and Mindfulness with Nicola

Wednesday 24th July 10.30am -12.30pm

Naturezones – book your place please

Wednesday 31st July 10.30am -12.30pm

Beetledrive!

Wednesday 7th August 10.30am -12.30pm

Get moving! with Hanna N

Wednesday 14th August 10.30am -12.30pm

Card Craft with Emma

Wednesday 21st August 10.30am -12.30pm

Internet Safety with Mark

Wednesday 28th August 10.30am -12.30pm

Mindfulness and Creativity with Anne

Wednesday 4th September 10.30am -12.30pm

Dinosaur Model making with Jason

Wednesday 11th September 10.30am -12.30pm

Dinosaur Model making with Jason

Wednesday 18th September 10.30am -12.30pm

Dinosaur Model making with Jason

Wednesday 25th September 10.30am -12.30pm

Make a bath bomb – please book a place

Wednesday 2nd October 10.30am -12.30pm

Movement and Mindfulness with Nicola

 

Anxiety Café Wednesday Daytime Timetable, April to June 2019 

 

Tuesday 9th April 4 - 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 17th April 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 23rd April 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Monday 29th April 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Monday 6th May

No Meeting – Bank Holiday

Tuesday 14th May 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 22nd May 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St – Textiles Project

Sunday 26th May Parade Day!

Meet in East Cowes with the banner for parade

Tuesday 28th May 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Monday 3rd June 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 11th June 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 19th June 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 25th June 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Monday 1st July 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 9th July 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 17th July 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 23rd July 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

 

Anxiety Café Evening Timetable July to October 2019

 

Tuesday 9th July 4 - 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 17th July 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 23rd July 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Monday 5th August

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 13th August 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 21st August 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St – Textiles Project

Tuesday 27th August 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Monday 2nd September 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 10th September 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 18th September  5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 24th September 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Sunday 6th October – All day

Festival of the Mind at Riverside Centre

Monday 7th October 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 15th October 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 23rd October 5 – 6pm

Newport Suite One 30 Quay St

Tuesday 29th October 4 – 5pm

Freshwater Coffee House

 

Anxiety Café

Anxiety Café 2018 photographic exhibition

Anxiety Café photographic exhibition

The Quay Street Triangle was an exhibition of photographs looking at the area around Quay Street where Anxiety Café meets weekly. The exhibition was the culmination of a four-week project led by Independent Arts’ practitioner Mark LLoyd, starting with basic camera skills and looking at colour, form and texture.

The photographers were instructed to look at their surroundings in a new way, to capture the streets from a different angle.

Anxiety Café looks at ways of helping anxiety through creativity. Project Manager and participant Hannah Griffiths said:

“The photography project has been a joy. We’ve loved learning and practising new skills in the safe environment that the group provides. Seeing the work up for members of the public to appreciate is a great boost for the confidence and self-esteem of our group. Hopefully this will help people see that there is more to us than our anxiety."

The exhibition ran at the Lord Louis Library in Newport during November 2018.

"Anxiety Café has saved my life. I attended regularly and it was a great relief that it was close to home and people understood me."

Anxiety Café participant

 

Newport weekly daytime sessions

Every Wednesday 10.30am – 12.30pm at the "little hall" Methodist Church hall, Quay St, Newport, PO30 5BA

 

Newport monthly evening sessions

Newport evening meetings are held on:
First Monday of the month 5–6pm

and

Third Wednesday of the month 5–6pm at:

Suite 1, 30 Quay St, Newport PO30 5BA

 

Freshwater monthly sessions

Freshwater meetings are held on:

Second Tuesday of the month 4–5pm

and

Fourth Tuesday of the month 4–5pm at:

Freshwater Coffee House, 5 School Green Rd, Freshwater PO40 9AJ

 

See timetables left for more details.

 

For more information please

contact us

Anxiety Café is supported by

 

 

 

Wight Aid