Anxiety Café

Anxiety Café is designed to help those living with anxiety who are ready to take the next step towards improving their social isolation, confidence and gain new skills through creative activity.

Monthly evening sessions and weekly daytime sessions available. Refreshments are provided. A voluntary donation is appreciated.

Over 16s only.

Please call 01983 822437 to book your place.

 

Anxiety Café schedule, January – March 2019

 

Wednesday 9th January
10.30am – 12.30pm

Singing for Positivity with Annie

Tuesday 15th January 
5.30pm – 7.00pm

Evening Meeting – Newport

Wednesday 16th January 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Winter Photography with Mark (dress warmly!)

Tuesday 22nd January 
4pm – 5.30pm

Evening Meeting – Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 23rd January 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Writing with Anxiety with Andrew

Wednesday 30th January 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Mindfulness with Anne

Wednesday 6th February 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Time to talk day – coffee and chat drop in

Wednesday 13th February 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Recipe swap – bring along a favourite to share

Tuesday 19th February 
5.30pm – 7.00pm

Evening Meeting – Newport

Wednesday 20th February 
10.30am –12.30pm

Soundmoves with Zarah

Tuesday 26th February
4pm – 5.30pm

Evening Meeting – Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 27th February 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Needle Felting with Leigh

Wednesday 6th March 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Needle Felting with Leigh

Wednesday 13th March 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Needle Felting with Leigh

Tuesday 19th March
5.30pm – 7.00pm

Evening Meeting – Newport

Wednesday 20th March 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Mindfulness with Anne

Tuesday 26th March
4pm – 5.30pm

Evening Meeting – Freshwater Coffee House

Wednesday 27th March 
10.30am – 12.30pm

Photography Project with Mark

 

For more information please

contact us

Newport weekly daytime sessions

Every Wednesday 10.30am – 12.30pm at the "little hall" Methodist Church hall, Quay St, Newport, PO30 5BA

 

Newport monthly evening sessions

3rd Tuesday of each month, 5.30pm – 7pm at the "little hall"  Methodist Church hall, Quay St, Newport, PO30 5BA

Freshwater monthly sessions

4th Tuesday of each month, 4pm – 5.30pm at Freshwater Coffee House, 5 School Green Rd, Freshwater PO40 9AJ
 

Anxiety Café photographic exhibition

Anxiety Café photographic exhibition

The Quay Street Triangle is an exhibition of photographs looking at the area around Quay Street where Anxiety Café meets weekly. The exhibition is the culmination of a four-week project led by Independent Arts’ practitioner Mark LLoyd, starting with basic camera skills and looking at colour, form and texture.

The photographers were instructed to look at their surroundings in a new way, to capture the streets from a different angle.

Anxiety Café looks at ways of helping anxiety through creativity. Project Manager and participant Hannah Griffiths said:

“The photography project has been a joy. We’ve loved learning and practising new skills in the safe environment that the group provides. Seeing the work up for members of the public to appreciate is a great boost for the confidence and self-esteem of our group. Hopefully this will help people see that there is more to us than our anxiety."

The exhibition ran at the Lord Louis Library in Newport during November 2018.

 

Anxiety Café is supported by WightAid

Wight Aid